Zero Suicide (Show Me Zero Youth Suicide Program)

  1. Program Provider
  2. Full Description


Program Summary:
The Zero Suicide program was initially implemented in 2018 to reduce youth suicide through an integrated systems-level approach. COMBAT funds provide services to 350-400 children and youth, ages 10-19, and their families in Jackson County. Healthcare coverage often does not fully cover services offered by Zero Suicide, creating service gaps for underinsured individuals.

Those Zero Suicide primarily helps are some of the most traditionally underserved: predominately females (74%) and LGBTQ+ (31%). The average age of children enrolled in Zero Suicide was 15 years in 2019, with children as young as seven receiving services.

Services include screening, crisis intervention, intensive case management and follow-up procedures. Zero Suicide differentiates itself from typical suicide programming in that it emphasizes engagement, retention and delivery of high-quality, trauma-informed and meaningful treatment.

Since the 2018 implementation of ReDiscover’s Zero Suicide program in various schools throughout Jackson County, the suicide rate has gone down 5.8%.

Program Addresses: 
ReDiscover • 901 NE Independence Avenue  Kansas City, MO 64083

Blue Springs School District • 1801 NW Vesper Blue Springs, MO 64015

Center School District • 8701 Holmes Road Kansas City, MO 64131

Fort Osage School District • 2101 N. Twyman Road • Independence, MO 64058

Grain Valley School District • 31606 E. Pink Hill Road Grain Valley, MO 64029

Grandview C-4 School District • 13015 10th Street Grandview, MO 64030

Hickman Mills C-1 School District • 5401 E. 103rd Street Kansas City, MO 64137

Independence School District • 201 N. Forest Avenue Independence, MO 64050

Kansas City Archdiocese (Missouri schools) 
Main Office: 12615 Parallel Parkway • Kansas City, KS 66109

Kansas City Public Schools • 2901 Troost Avenue Kansas City, MO 64109

Lee's Summit School District • 301 NE Tudor Road Lee's Summit, MO 64086

Nativity of Mary Parish Schools • 10021 E 36th Terr. • Independence, MO 64052

Notre De Sion School • 10631 Wornall Road Kansas City, MO 64114

Our Lady of Presentation
150 Northwest Murray Road • Lee's Summit, MO 64081-1558

Raytown School District • 6608 Raytown Road Raytown, MO 64138

Rockhurst High School • 9301 State Line Road • Kansas City, MO 64114

816-347-3052 •


    These are the agencies that have a COMBAT-funded program with a suicide prevention emphasis or component.

    » Integrated Arts Violence Prevention Program

    Blue Springs School District
    » Eastern Jackson County Schools Collaborative of Greater Kansas City

    Child Protection Center, Inc.
    » Child Protection Center

    DeLaSalle Education Center
    » DeLaSalle Violence Prevention

    Reconciliation Services
    » REVEAL Social & Mental Health Services

    » Show-Me Zero Suicide